This September the Tour of Britain is heading to Cumbria for not one but two stages…

The first stage that we see is on the 8th September when stage 3 rolls out of Cockermouth, they then travel up to Maryport before cycling up the coast through Aspatria to the Solway Firth. Their last stop in Cumbria is Carlisle before crossing the border into Scotland for the finish in Kelso.

We get to see the Tour of Britain again 2 days later when stage 5 arrives in to Cumbria after travelling along Hadrian’s Wall, this stage takes in Ullswater and Penrith before an 8km climb up to the summit finish on Hartside Fell in the Eden Valley.


[huge_it_gallery id=”13″]


Here is a bit more information about the teams that you have the chance to see at this years Tour of Britain.

The Aviva Tour of Britain will feature the biggest line-up of UCI WorldTeams to race in the UK this year, as nine of the world’s best teams head to Britain.

Headlining the 20-team list are Team Cannondale Garmin, who won the 2014 Tour of Britain with Dylan Van Baarle and the Etixx Quick-Step team of Mark Cavendish and World Champion Michal Kwiatkowski. Top level British interests are represented by Team Sky.

The other six UCI WorldTeams that will race in the 2.HC ranked Aviva Tour of Britain are BMC Racing, IAM Cycling, Lotto Soudal, Movistar Team, Team Lotto NL Jumbo and Tinkoff – Saxo.

Those nine, plus MTN Qhubeka, have been in action in the Tour de France, winning 13 of the 21 stages, and will line-up with six rider squads.

This is not just an international race, so fans of the domestic racing scene will also be able to get behind all six of the country’s UCI Continental teams, including 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series Champions Madison Genesis and last year’s Elite Road Series winning squad Team Raleigh GAC, and also cheer on a Great Britain Cycling Team racing on home roads.

Three squads, ONE Pro Cycling, co-owned by former England cricketer Matt Prior, Team WIGGINS, the personal team of World Hour Record holder Sir Bradley Wiggins, and Cult Energy will make their Aviva Tour of Britain debuts this September. They will also be joined by two further UCI ProContinental teams – MTN Qhubeka and Team Novo Nordisk.

The full list of teams for the Aviva Tour of Britain is as follows:

UCI WorldTeams

  • BMC Racing (USA)
  • Etixx Quick-Step (Belgium)
  • IAM Cycling (Switzerland)
  • Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
  • Movistar Team (Spain)
  • Team Cannondale – Garmin (USA)
  • Team Lotto NL Jumbo (Netherlands)
  • Team Sky (Great Britain)
  • Tinkoff – Saxo (Russia)

UCI Pro Continental teams

  • Cult Energy Pro Cycling (Denmark)
  • MTN Qhubeka (South Africa)
  • Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

UCI Continental teams

  • An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)
  • JLT Condor presented by Mavic (Great Britain)
  • Madison Genesis (Great Britain)
  • NFTO (Great Britain)
  • ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain)
  • Team Raleigh GAC (Great Britain)
  • Team WIGGINS (Great Britain)

National Teams

  • Great Britain Cycling Team


If you are thinking of visiting the area why not check out the great choice of accommodation from hotels and family run b&b’s to self-catering cottages and campsites. To view all the accommodation providers CLICK HERE

Your Message...Your name *...Your email *...Your website...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *